A review of sleepers a book by lorenzo caracaterra

The different motivations of the groups determine conduct, demonstrate the most casual concern for lives, and finally determine the outcome of the conflicts. And yet Carcaterra suggests that Lorenzo and his chums were bold enough to turn a football game between guards and inmates into a daring act of insurrection that ends in even more physical and sexual torment.

Mod I finished it a day late this time. Even as they face almost certain death. To the comments that mentioned the aspect of pre-teens of twelve and thirteen being involved in street life as unrealistic, I can only say that they are out of touch.

But by that time the secret doesn't matter and sheds no more light on Angelo than the reader has gleaned in the previous chapters. And his likeliest successor is uncertain he wants to claim his iniquitous inheritance.

Finally we read about his rise to power as one the most feared gangsters.

Reservation form

The feeling of territoriality with Mr. By Beverley Strong on Aug 20, There are certain mild mannered individuals like me, who adore gangster and mafia stuff. If you're ready to suspend all disbelief and appreciation for quality research, then the droning tome of "Gangster" will be right up your alley.

This is truly epic storytelling in both colorful characters as well as a kind of biography. I am really looking forward to his newest work coming. In this book, Carcaterra brings us back, once again, to the streets of Manhattan -- although instead of hanging out in Hell's Kitchen of "Sleepers" fame, we are in the Chelsea section down on 28th Street and Broadway.

Gangster: A Novel

These tend to be compromises in writing style with the result being mediocre at best. He has brought Boomer Frontierie back to life, back to the streets. The three primary characters are all brought together in unusual ways and the Author maintains the entirety and hidden detail of the relationships until the final page.

Perhaps its a bit too much of same old, same old but Part I of the book was rather ho hum and I only continued at this point to see if Part II would be more interesting.

Carcaterra has produced a worthwhile and enjoyable read about his fictional characters in 20th century organized crime. The character of Gabe,a 10 year old oprphan is introduced as the reader watches him come into Angelo's world, is taken under his wing, tutored by Angelo to become a ganster and the decision which Gabe must make about his future.

When an old friend turns to him for help, Boomer has the excuse he needs.Average Customer Review: out of 5 stars 43 customer reviews Amazon Bestsellers Rank: I recently read Gangster by Lorenzo Caracaterra in the hopes that I would enjoy it as much as the movie Sleepers which was based on the book by Mr.

A history of hannibals rule

Carcaterra. Unfortunately this book didn't quite measure up to Sleepers for emotional impact but I also Reviews: Carcaterra's "Midnight Angels" is another suspenseful novel in the treasure-hunting/art-theft genre that I refer to as my "guilty pleasure genre." The premise of this book was interesting, and the relationships between characters were well thought out, so it was mostly very enjoyable/5.

I rarely ever read a book of fiction, so the fact that this book purports to be factual was a plus for me. After reading it, however, I read that it was not a true story.

Good Evil Essays (Examples)

I don't know if it is an account of actual events, as the author states at the beginning of the book, but it is a very spellbinding read in either case/5(). Sleepers [Lorenzo Carcaterra] on cheri197.com *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For fans of Game of Silence, Sleepers is the extraordinary true story of four men who take the law into their own hands. This is the story of four young boys/5().

Questions?

One of the most unintentionally hilarious books I have ever read. Just terrible. From the premise to the idiotic nicknames of the characters, the incredibly low quality of this book calls into question whether Mr.

Reservation form

Carcaterra could have actually written a book like Sleepers/5. This recent book by Lorenzo Carcaterra, author of "Sleepers" and other bestsellers, has a familiar theme. I recently read Gangster by Lorenzo Caracaterra in the hopes that I would enjoy it as much as the movie Sleepers which was based on the book by Mr.

Carcaterra. and later movie, SLEEPERS. This book is right up there with SLEEPERS.

Download
A review of sleepers a book by lorenzo caracaterra
Rated 4/5 based on 79 review